Hymn Testimony 4: “Hymns + Scripture = Foundation of effective Prayer”

Acts 16:25-26 “About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them. Suddenly there was such a violent earthquake that the foundations of the prison were shaken. At once all the prison doors flew open, and everyone’s chains came loose.”

Thapelo le difela ha di sokolle moya oa o a rapelang kgotsa a binang difela fela, empa di sokolla batho ka moka.

John 8:32 “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Mathew 18:20 “For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.”

Psalm 133:1 “How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity!”

Galatians 6:9 “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”

The key lesson in the above quoted scriptures from the book of Mathew, Psalm of David and Letter from Apostle Paul to the churches in Galatia is:

  • Modimo o rata kwano gare ga bana ba gage, ge re kopantswe ke lerato la Modimo,
    ebile re na le maekemisetso a go rapedisa thaba e re kwaneng ka yona,
    o kgona go ultoa thapelo ea rona.

I personally love going to church because when we sing hymns, it does not matter what you may be going through, healing of hearts happens, and the uplifting of the Spirit that is in each of us is the result.

Galatians 6:9 Stresses the fact that we ought to keep doing good and not give up for in God’s alloted time, we will reap a good harvest.

Prayer is a selfless act, ge o bona wa geno a kwile bohloko kgotsa a lwala, wena o phedileng sentle, maitapiso a gago a go mo rapedisa a ka se wele le fela.

1 Corinthians 12:1 “Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ.”

This means, as a christian, it is your business to pray when your fellow brother or sister is in trouble.Singing hymns is a good way to start, it calls upon the holy Spirit sp that it may be present among you.This divine Spirit will guide you to the relevant scriptures you ought to read.

Romans 8:26-27 ” In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.”

Hymn 7 verse 1 from Difela Tsa Sione:
“Jehova, Modimo oa Israele,
U re faladitse lefifing la pele;
Re thaba hakaakang ha re u khumamela;
Kajeno re batho,
re tseba ho rapela.”

The only way to learn how to pray effectively is to pray. Morena ke ena a tla go hlonofatsang, oa gola ka tumelo.

I have been asked on countless occassions what my favourite hymn is; Many hymns touch my heart as they all have a purpose and they effectively provide healing in ways that are remarkable; However, one hymn that truly stands out for me is hymn 108 “Ha le mpotsa tsepo ea ka.” It is a true testament of my life and I believe many can identify. My home is at my Father’s house: ‘Hae ke ha eso’.

Sefela se, se ea thi hlalosa but for my fellow bretherans who might not understand it, I will give an interpretation/translation.

Ha le mpotsa tsepo ea ka,
ke tla re ke Jeso!
ke lapetse ho mo aka,
ha hae ke ha eso.

If you ask me where it is my faith resides,
I shall proclaim that it is with the Lord Jesus Christ.
I long to be beside him,
for His home is my home. [John 14:2]
Le re, ke boneng ho ena,
ke bone phomolo,
thabo e leng ho Morena,
ha ena phetogo.

You ask what it is I saw in Him?
I saw a sactuary, a place of peaceful rest. [Psalm 23:2]
The joy that is in the Lord Jesus Christ
is uncomparable and unchanging. [Psalm 100:5]

Ka na ka nyoreloa bohle,
ka tsoa tsoa ke batla,
Ka tsieloa, Ke ntho tsohle,
ka feloa ke maatla.

I once yearned/ longed for beauty
I searched endlessly for it,
became burdened with everything
and thus, lost my strength.
Athe, Jeso, O na mpona,
Ha ke lela joalo,
a mpitsa a re: tlo, ho nna,
o fole matsoalo.

By His Grace, I realised, Jesus had seen me,
weaping in distress
He called me unto himself
and said: ‘Come to me and I will give you rest’
I will bring healing to your soul. [Mathew 11:28-29]
Joale, ke kgotse ka mehla,
Mohau wa Modimo.
Ke qadile ho iketla,
tsepong ea hodimo.
Now, I am content,
By the Grace of God
I have begun to rest
in my belief of the One above, the Most High. [Philippians 4:11-13]

God bless you all and be with you.

This entry was posted in Hymn Discussion, Hymn lyrics, Hymn Testimonies, Hymn Testimony, Hymn Translations. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hymn Testimony 4: “Hymns + Scripture = Foundation of effective Prayer”

  1. Keletso motala says:

    M reali blssd

  2. mpho makene says:

    lenna modimo wa nthata

  3. Ntaeleng Grace Kiti says:

    Molimo mphe matla ke tsebe ho dula tumelong ya ka, tsela e ke etsamayang e boima ntle le tataiso ya hao

  4. NTHABI says:

    MODIMO O LERATO KE KA MOO KERE LE GE KE TSAMAYA TSELENG E LAFIFI I FEAR NO EVIL

  5. Lazarus morena says:

    ke dula mo go Jeso.goba go fihla a dira manaba a ka bogato bja dinao txao.jwale lena ekgetheleng yeo le tlogo mo rapela fela ge ele nna le ba ntlo yaka retla khunamela MODIMO.

  6. Esther says:

    Am feeling so blessed. Keep up the gud work.

  7. Kabelo Moroaswi says:

    I am really touched by the message you convey about the Prayer + Hymn.

  8. Gaontebale Moeletsi says:

    Kagiso ya modimo e nne le lona lotlhe bana ba ga Rara……….ba lo etelang this page…Old as this post is I found the goodness in it and it moved me to tears for I really love the Lord with all my heart and wish to be as prayerful…..Thank you so much the author of post stay blessed and the anointing should never leave you.Difela tsa Sione are so spot on..

  9. Matome says:

    Sefela se setsosholosa Moya waka.. Ka utlwa ke fetohile ke pholohile..Amen

  10. Reshoketwe says:

    RESHOKETSWE MAKENA SAYS:
    Sefela se bula pelo .Otla kwa gore moya wa Modimo o fihlile gomme Kamogelo ke tharollo. AMEN.

Leave a Reply

