Ma yenzek’ intando yaKho – May Your (God’s) will be done

Good afternoon my brothers and sisters.

I was listening to Amadodana a se Wesile’s “Bawo xa ndilahlekayo” #Hymn_239 from Umbedefo Namaculo AmaWesile hymn book this morning and it got me thinking, people often say that this Xhosa hymn is the equivalent of “Ntate ha ke sa sepela” #Hymn_110 from the Lifela Tsa Sione hymn book, however, there is really more to it than that.

To give an English translated summary of #Hymn_239 for those who do not understand Xhosa, the hymn puts emphasis on the fact that ‘May God’s will be done’ at all times.

The composer talks about how difficult the journey of life is and how good and bad things are allowed to happen by the Creator and that, He, should teach him to always in all circumstances, profess that ‘May Your (God’s) will be done’.

It is a very powerful hymn.

I know many of you can identify with it; The composer talks about the time when he was ill and had lost all his strength, he tried however painful it was to still proclaim that ‘May Your (God’s) will be done’.

He (the composer) than asks God to turn his ways so that they may be aligned with His (God’s) ways. He further on, asks God to cleanse him and for His (God’s) will to be done. ‘May Your (God’s) will be done’.

This too is my prayer for you all my brothers and sisters: “Ma yenzek’ intando yaKho /May Your (God’s) will be done” in your lives.

Modimo a be le lona lohle, a le matlafatse maphelong a lona. Have a blessed day.

This entry was posted in Hymn Discussion, Hymn Testimonies, Hymn Translations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ma yenzek’ intando yaKho – May Your (God’s) will be done

  1. Senganga says:

    Good day to you.
    The origin of this hymn is English. It was composed by the lady called Charlotte Elliott. Please google her to know her story. That will truly give you a more appreciation of the song. One of Ms. Elliott composition that you may fall in love with is this one “Just as I am”. Also please google the origin of that song and it will inspire you even more in your love to Jesus. Back to the song yes the one you explain is in Xhosa and “Ntate ha ke sa sepela” is Sesotho translation. Most of our hymnals are translation from English and because the translators did not want to loss the poetic melody of the original, they did best to give those songs themes that we can be able to appreciate. This days the translations have lost the poetic of old and they are more literal. The name of the hymn in English is “My God, My Father, While I Stray”. Below is the original version in English.

    “My God, My Father, While I Stray”
    by Charlotte Elliot, 1789-1871

    1. My God, my Father, while I stray
    Far from my home on life’s rough way
    Oh, teach me from my heart to say,
    “Thy will be done.”

    2. Though dark my path and sad my lot,
    Let me be still and murmur not
    Or breathe the prayer divinely taught,
    “Thy will be done.”

    3. What though in lonely grief I sigh
    For friends beloved, no longer nigh,
    Submissive still would I reply–
    “Thy will be done.”

    4. Though Thou hast called me to resign
    What most I prized, it ne’er was mine;
    I have but yielded what was Thine–
    “Thy will be done.”

    5. Should grief or sickness waste away
    My life in premature decay,
    My Father, still I strive to say,
    “Thy will be done.”

    6. Let but my fainting heart be blest
    With Thy sweet Spirit for its Guest;
    My God, to Thee I leave the rest–
    “Thy will be done.”

    7. Renew my will from day to day;
    Blend it with Thine and take away
    All that now makes it hard to say,
    “Thy will be done.”

    8. Then, when on earth I breathe no more,
    The prayer, oft mixed with tears before,
    I’ll sing upon a happier shore,
    “Thy will be done.”

    I truly hope you love that

    • Lizo says:

      Mine is not a reply but a question. In the Xhosa Hymn Book, the composer is listed as J Chalmers. How do you explain that? What you say is quite believable, considering that Charlotte Elliot was much older than J Chalmers who was born only in 1841. Although you do not say when the hymn was composed, it is very much likely that by the time Chalmers was born the hymn had long been written.
      Lizo

  2. Senganga says:

    If you want to listen to “Just as I am”, you can listen to Mahalia Jackson rendition or group called Selah. Please listen to that Just as I am and read about its origin not only from Wikipedia. May Jesus bless you.

  3. innocent says:

    Am really blessed ,thank you so much

Leave a Reply

