Le tla hlaba neng letsatsi?

“Bogale bja gagwe ke bja lebakanyana fela, botho bja gagwe bjona ke bophelo ka moka. Le ge mantšiboa motho a ka robala a lla, mosong o tsoga a thabile.” – Dipesalome 30:5

“For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favour lasts a lifetime;
Weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.”
-Psalm 30:5

Good evening. Some of you may feel like it’s been night for a long time in your lives and are probably asking yourselves and God: “le tla hlaba neng letsatsi?” I.e. “When will the morning come? when will the sun dawn on us?”

You do your best each day however fall short and feel that sometimes, more often than you’d like to admit it wasn’t good enough.
You pray because you believe and hope things will get better.
Time passes and still no changes. Wait there are changes, you say to yourself: “I may not be where I want to be but I’m grateful I’m not where I used to be.” This may be true, however you’re still not sure if indeed things are improving or maybe your level of tolerance has increased…

Some days are better than others, you manage to smile without thinking too much about your problems, you have a reason to praise, after all, you are still alive… right?

The truth is, yes; you are grateful for life however you feel broken and not sure what to do because in all the praising, you still asking yourself: “what is it that I ought to be doing that I need to do?” Maybe I should start praying in tongues, maybe I should become a vegetarian, maybe I should join church choir or serve at the alter… maybe….

The question echoes even louder:

“Le tla hlaba neng le tsatsi?” I.e. “When will the morning come? when will the sun dawn on me?”

You’ve run out of options….

You decide to go to church, go to an elder or priest and confess.
You confess that though you’ve given your life to God, you can’t help but feel burdened. You read scriptures as much as you can, often feeling better and hopeful but the feeling doesn’t last long…

you breakdown and ask:
“Le tla hlaba neng le tsatsi?” I.e. “When will the morning come? when will the sun dawn on me?”

The elder/priest says to you: “My child, in Mathew 11:28 it is written

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I wi give you rest.”
Again in John 16:20-24 it is written

20 Very truly I tell you, you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy. 21 A woman giving birth to a child has pain because her time has come; but when her baby is born she forgets the anguish because of her joy that a child is born into the world. 22 So with you: Now is your time of grief, but I will see you again and you will rejoice, and no one will take away your joy.23 In that day you will no longer ask me anything. Very truly I tell you, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. 24 Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.

You ponder on these words… it dawns on you: you can never earn God’s love for you, he loves you no matter what…

You remember that He said that in this world we will find tribulations but that we must be of good cheer for He has overcome the world.

Things may not be perfect. Others may be saying you’re wasting your time praising and worshiping God… but do not lose heart my brothers and sisters.

I would like to quote hymn 99 from the Lifela Tsa Sione hymn book that reminds us that it is not by our tears that our sins are forgiven, oh no! It is through the love of our Lord God through his son Jesus Christ.

Bolibeng joa mohlomola,
Moo ke neng ke tebile,
Ha ke se ke ea timela,
Jesu, u n’u nkhopole;
Ua hlaha, ua ntutubolla,
Ka tsota lintle tsa hao,
Ka tseba le ho nyakalla,
Hoba ke bone mohau.

Empa, ke sa ntse ke khasa;
Che, esita le joale
Matsoalo a sa ntlhokisa
Tumelo ea sebele.
Ke hopola libe tsa ka,
Ke ntse ke itelela,
Ke mpa ke lebala ngaka
E reng, e ka mphekola.

Jesu, u itse ho rona;
Tlong ho ‘na, le se tšabe!
Ha se meokho ea lona
E ka le hlatsoang libe:
Ke ‘na ea le fang tšoarelo,
Ke ‘na ea le folisang!
Morena, ha u rialo,
Re ka belaela joang?
-Lifela Tsa Sione ‪#‎Hymn_99‬

‘I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him”
-Lamentations 3:24

This entry was posted in Hymn lyrics, Hymn Testimonies, Hymn Testimony and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

